The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Refinishing question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
This is not my question, but one asked of me by another magician. I don't know the answer, but was hoping someone here might. Here it is in his words:

"I have a woodworking question for you. I’m refinishing an old Abbott’s “Hole in One”, and I want to strip the top surface which is stained and lacquered birch plywood. Here’s my question: Will the stripper remove the stain along with the lacquer, and if so, will it come off uniformly so that it can be re-stained? Or, will the stain remain in the wood so it just needs to be re-lacquered. My concern is that I will end up with a blotchy looking surface. I have a lot of experience with stripping and re-finishing, but not on a stained surface. Any thoughts or experience you can share would be greatly appreciated!"
~michael baker
The Magic Company
61magic
View Profile
Special user
Sacramento California
776 Posts

Profile of 61magic
The answer is yes and no. It will depend on the chemical of the stripper and the type of stain used.
I've refinished several magic items with finish similar to what your friend is describing, all have some minor blemish.
I've used some of the citrus based strippers that are not only skin friendly they are much less harsh on the wood.
The stain may come up depending on what the original stain used was and how long it was left on the surface. The type of wood and the length of time the sits determines how far into the grain the stain penatrates.
The stripper may take off some of the remaining surface stain but removing the stripper as soon as possible will reduce the chance of it getting into the wood grain and harming the stain.