The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Wooden cases -- any special hinges, or a better strategy? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
motivationalmagic
View Profile
Regular user
Pennsylvania
179 Posts

Profile of motivationalmagic
I constructed a thin case, 2x4, which will lay on top of a keyboard stand. Trying to figure out how to get the lid to swing open all the way, so that it hangs down. Instead, the lid will open so far, and then it is blocked.

Not sure if there are some special hinges out there? Perhaps longer or extended?

I'm new to woodworking. This is my first project.

Here are some photos to better illustrate.

http://www.motivationalmagic.com/woodencase/woodencase.html

Also, am looking for ideas on what I can do to secure the keyboard stand to the back of the wooden case when packing it in the car. This would enable me to make less trips back and forth to the car. (See the last picture).

Should the wood be treated to help the nice appearance of the wood last longer? If so, what should I buy and how is it applied?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Rich
Motivational Magic
"The Magician on a Mission to Motivate"
www.MotivationalMagic.com
M.Frymus
View Profile
Loyal user
Oakville, Ontario, Canada!
293 Posts

Profile of M.Frymus
For the opening of the case, the best thing I could think of is just re-positioning the hinges. Instead of the hinge that is attached to the case be on the inside, it should be on the back outside. And the hinge that is on the lid should remain on the inside as is.
You would just need to move the hinge to the back of the case and screw it on the back. But, this will be on the outside, which means you will see the hinge. If that is OK with you?

Also, make sure the hinge you have opens up all the way on both sides. A 360' rotation. Some stop short, which also may prevent opening all the way.