The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The workshop :: Looking for tips on a roller shade release (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
spkrosky
View Profile
New user
89 Posts

Profile of spkrosky
Hi,
Don't build a whole lot of illusions, but I'm working on a flash appearance right now that is coming together great. But I need some tips on how to release the roller shade via some sort of foot trigger. I'm not very good with electronics, etc. but I thought those of you with more expertise might be able to help.

Thanks
rtgreen
View Profile
Inner circle
Portland, Oregon
1322 Posts

Profile of rtgreen
A really simple solution is to just put a foot on the shade to hold it down. You could also make a simple catch-type trigger to release the shade. Make a pivoting hook that holds the shade down, then just kick the hook to pivot it away from the shade to bring it up. I saw somewhere recently a flash appearance that had a coordinated flashpot and shade release. It looked cool, but personally I try to stay away from electronics that could fail without warning.

Thanks,
Richard
kaytracy
View Profile
Inner circle
Central California
1793 Posts

Profile of kaytracy
Try a clothespin on a board set up- the spring style clothespins.
Kay and Tory
www.Bizarremagick.com
rtgreen
View Profile
Inner circle
Portland, Oregon
1322 Posts

Profile of rtgreen
Quote:
On 2005-05-03 18:48, kaytracy wrote:
Try a clothespin on a board set up- the spring style clothespins.

I wish I had thought of that. Simple - inexpensive - effective. Good thinking! Smile
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker