The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Ballooning 101 :: Tonight was Awesome (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
magic4jc
View Profile
Regular user
Texas, USA
148 Posts

Profile of magic4jc
Wow!

I am a noob at balloon twisting. I've known the basic dog / giraffe for a few years, but I've just started learning other stuff about three months ago. So far, I can do about 20 different sculptures, not counting several crazy hats.

Anyway, I took my family out to eat tonight, and my daughter (8 yrs old) wanted me to take my balloons in, so I did. I saw a family with three children (aprox ages 4-10), and my daughter asked me if I would make them a balloon animal. I said "If their parents don't mind, I guess I could." I asked the parents if I could make a balloon sculpture for each kid. They said "SURE"!!! Well, as I was doing so, other families around started asking me to come to their tables and make balloons for their kids. So I did. Then the wait staff all came to me with "special request" ballon requests. So I made them. Then more families asked. Then the manager of the place came and asked for one. I twisted my little heart out, and the next thing you know, I'd been twisting for nearly 2 hours. I didn't accept tips, though not many offered. And I left feeling so "giddy" and happy.

Now before you pros get on me about doing this for free, remember that I am a balloon beginner. This was great experience for me. I don't intend to do it for free all the time, this was just a special situation. Also, I live in a VERY VERY rural area. The only other twisters that I know of around here are my mentors, and they live in a big city about 60 miles away. The don't even market themselves here, so I didn't steal anyone's business.