The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: All tied up! :: Any doctors in the house...hanging question (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
giggalo183
View Profile
New user
new jersey
32 Posts

Profile of giggalo183
I have a question. How long can a person hang upside down before all the blood rushes to the head causing negative side effects? Are there any ways to escape the side effects?
Scarecrow
View Profile
New user
Around
12 Posts

Profile of Scarecrow
I'm not a doctor, but I think blood pressure to the head at 1G won't give you much more than a headache. And for that there's always acetaminophine or asprin or motrin or ibuprofin. Or drink a caffeinated beverage after you let your feet have a turn with gravity.
Just make sure you haven't been drinking beer all day in the hot sun before trying a stunt like that . . . you should be okay.

***Don't take my word alone on this***
-Kevin.

P.s. Any physically stressful bouts on the body have some form of physiological damage or other. But that's not gonna keep me from riding roller coasters!
There's nothing I take more seriously than goofing off.
Ian McColl
View Profile
Inner circle
1493 Posts

Profile of Ian McColl
The heart is only designed to pump as high as your head, and muscles in your legs assist the return flow up as the heart pumps blood down your leg. (which is why your hand goes numb if you raise your hand above your heart) Once upside down, your heart will not pump blood to your toes and the blood in your brain will not naturally flow out of it and the heart pumps blood in. The effect on you head and limbs will be different for all people.

A friend of mine was lifted 100 feet by crane