The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The little darlings :: Not Sure about Kid Shows (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
 Go to page 1~2 [Next]
davbut50
View Profile
New user
11 Posts

Profile of davbut50
I'm new to the Café; however, I'm not new to kids or magic. I was thinking of gearing up for a Kid's show. I've read so many bad things about it, I'm not sure if I want to. I teach Middle School; however, I'm not sure I want to deal with the drama on weekends. Any thoughts on this perspective?

I would never put together a show over 30 minutes for any group of kids due to attention span. I would also not be willing to do shows for kids over the age of 10 because I do not enjoy herding cats. What to do?
tgs
View Profile
Regular user
142 Posts

Profile of tgs
I've found the magicians I know who enjoy kids shows just love working with kids generally. If you love teaching middle school, that will probably translate to an enjoyment of performing kids' magic. Either way, the only way to know for sure is to give it a shot without investing too much start-up capital. Do a show at your place of worship, if you belong to one. Perform for your friends' kids' parties.

As to your unwillingness to do shows over 30 minutes or perform for the tween-and-up crowd - that's fine. What to do about that is, don't book any shows longer than 30 minutes or for older kids. It's an easy thing to avoid. My standard birthday party shows are all 30 minutes long and I almost never get a request to go longer.
seadog93
View Profile
Inner circle
3200 Posts

Profile of seadog93
Kids shows are great, don't worry about it. If your doing under 10 there is even less to worry about, just buy and read (if you haven't already) Seriously Silly by David Kaye and make your magic great.

If your not new to kids and your not new to magic and your willing to respect that kids shows are there own type.