The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: The little darlings :: How much to charge? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
ClodAppleleft
View Profile
Regular user
Manchester, NH
195 Posts

Profile of ClodAppleleft
Hey everyone,

I have been offered my first kids show. I normally work REn-Faires and my show in general is geared towards kids, but this is my first time going to someones house to do the show. The show is for my neighbor, and I have offered to do it for free because of all the help they have given us since we have moved in. My neighbor is insisting on paying me. The thing is, I have NO idea on how much to charge, especially if I get other offers from the other parents afterwards. So my question is, How much should I ask for?

Smile
There are many different ways to cut an apple.
Dennis Michael
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern, NJ
5821 Posts

Profile of Dennis Michael
Based on your situation, and you were going to do it for free, charge him $20.00, He'll be happy and you get a case of beer out of the deal!

As for other offers from other parents, charge the going rate of what your worth. This could be $75 to whatever.
Dennis Michael
Billy Whizz
View Profile
Special user
Plymouth, UK
576 Posts

Profile of Billy Whizz
It's difficult to say what to charge for a show because every country/city/state is different. Here in the south west of England, UK, the average is about £90.00 but if you were to drive a few hours up the line to London you could easily charge over £300.00 for exactly the same show. You need to find out who's working in your area and what they charge.