The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Polly wants a cracker... :: New To Dove Magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Dan Bernier
View Profile
Inner circle
Canada
2298 Posts

Profile of Dan Bernier
First of all, I apologize if my post has already been done. I have read most of the posts here, but there are too many to read all of them. I am new to dove magic and have never performed before with them. What DVDs would you recommend for someone who is new to it? I want to know as much as I can about proper care and handling, as well as the best harnesses, pockets, and holders. Information about dove training is also essential for me. What is the best type of dove to use? Can you substitute a dove with another type of bird? I know I have a lot of questions, but I want to get as much information as I can before incorporating doves in my shows. All information and leads would be greatly appreciated.
"If you're going to walk in the rain, don't complain about getting wet!"
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4865 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
Dan, all of these questions have been asked before, but I'll try to summarize a bit.

The first things you need to think about are "Do I have the time to take care of and work with the birds everyday," and "Do I have the space to keep them?"

Initial training should take about 6 weeks or more for each bird, but you must continue to work with them everyday after that. You must have the time. Dove cages must be kept clean all the time.

A cage for one or two birds should be no less than 24" x 24". They need room to stretch their wings and move around.

As for books and DVDs, here's a link that specifically lists most of the resources that are available. My personal opinion is that you should start with Tony Clark, Andy Amyx, Encyclopedia of Dove Magic, General Grant, and Greg Frewin.