The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index :: Dvd, Video tape, Audio tape & Compact discs. :: Jay Sankey Video/DVD (Yes, again!) (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Good to here.
Darren Roberts
View Profile
Loyal user
222 Posts

Profile of Darren Roberts
I posted this in the beginner's forum, then realized I should have posted it here. Sorry, I'm still new!

Anyways, I'm a beginner learning out of The Royal Road and Mark Wilson's Cyclopedia. Jay Sankey's stuff has me intruiged - especially his video/dvd collection. His stuff seems to have a wide variety of effects and techniqes. Is it good for a beginner? I have only been learning out of books thus far and want to try a video/dvd to see if I like it.

Thanks for any insight or experiences you may have.

Smile
WilliamWHolcomb
View Profile
Special user
Twinsburg, Ohio
533 Posts

Profile of WilliamWHolcomb
Your post was fine in the other forum but I'll also give a quick response here. I'd suggest that as a beginner you go with something like Ammar's Easy to Master Card Miracles. Don't get me wrong, I really like Sankey but I think that Ammar will give you a better foundation on which to build.

Just my 2-cents. Cheers!
William Holcomb
longbeach
View Profile
Regular user
Toronto, Ont
141 Posts

Profile of longbeach
Ammar will give a much better foundation to build on. to me he seems fairly "old school". Sankey, on the other hand, seems to portray a newer style and approach to card magic. his motto naw is "mind over moves", trying to simplify the handling of a trick, but to achieve the same great effect. don't get me wrong, sankey is BRILLIANT with cards, and my favorite creative minds in all of magic, and i recommend almost all his stuff, but i would put him at more of an intermediate level.
Andrew E. Miller
View Profile
Inner circle
Southern California
1428 Posts

Profile of Andrew E. Miller